Milk Bar by Cafe Ish, Redfern



milk bar

Hold the phone, we have a winner. My new favourite milkshake in the world –
The miso caramel milkshake!
It’s basically taking salted caramel to the next level, the saltiness having an undeniable miso flavour that just works.

I don’t know what causes someone to think “hey, lets get some motherfucking miso up in this milkshake”, but it’s straight genius…
Not like Einstein genius though, it’s the kind of disturbed genius that could cure cancer but spends their time inventing weird sex robots and shit like that.

milkshake 3
Miso Caramel Milkshake $7.50

I was less impressed with the cheeseburger, I found it a little dry on my first visit.
$15 though for the burger, fries, and a milkshake though is pretty good.

cheese burger 1
Cheeseburger & Fries + Milkshake $15

The second time the cheeseburger was better, still not the best burger getting around but a good effort.

cheese burgerCheeseburger $5

I talked my friend into ordering these cause I really wanted to try them.
Falafel coated eggs, tomato sauce, olives, organic feta, herbs.
Not bad, didn’t really work they way I’d hoped though but certainly something different.

scotch eggsScotch eggs ala Hipster $14.50

I realise that you actually can’t see any of the meatloaf in this photo but rest assured it’s under there. Comes with a side of onion jam that I’m normally a huge fan of but again this one just didn’t work.

meatloaf
Meatloaf $14.50

GG who is on health kick ordered this satay chicken burger and opted to not eat the bun, she was was impressed with the asian inspired innards however.

satay chicken burger 1Satay Chicken Burger $10 

I think it’s all about the milkshakes at Milk Bar but I have heard the soft shell crab burger is legit and their baked goods did look amazing, namely the huge cinnamon scrolls.

I have to share this excerpt of a review I read of them on Urbanspoon…

The “chef” (whom I assume is also the owner) started to verbally abuse my friend and went on a crazy tirade littered with the “F” word..
Yelling “Leave me the F alone and just sit the F down and order yr food and dont talk to me… If u don F like it, just get the F out of here”

Amazing!
I’m definitely more inclined to go back in the hope of seeing something like that…
bravo Milk Bar by Cafe Ish.

Milk Bar by Cafe Ish
105 Regent St
Redfern 2016

Milk Bar By Cafe Ish on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Milk Bar by Cafe Ish, Redfern

Leave a Reply

