Leura Gourmet Cafe & Deli, Leura

three sisters

I took a road trip up to my old hood the Blue Mountains to check out the three sisters last long weekend and stopped in Leura to eat. Leura Gourmet is my go to place when I’m up that way, it’s a spacious room with a few prime tables along the large back widow and it’s a great place to sit when it’s raining in winter with their warm chicken and leek pie.

cafe

The menu has something for everyone and they have a nice selection of gourmet foods and sauces out the front.

interior

We were starving by the time we arrived in late afternoon and were happy to see a bunch of free tables which be warned isn’t normally the case if you come at lunch time. We settled on the soup of the day to get us going, the pumpkin soup came out quickly with toasted crusty bread. It was a pretty generous serving for $12.90 and was enough to be shared between the two of us.

soup 1Soup of the day $12.90

When it comes to pasta I don’t mess around, I’m a connoisseur and I rarely eat it if it isn’t made fresh on the premises, however when I overheard heard the waitress explaining to someone else that today it was linguine with prawns, chilli and olive oil I couldn’t say no. It came out with a generous number of prawns and fresh shaved parmesan. Some of the pasta was a slightly burnt and crisp on top like it had been sitting under a heat lamp too long but overall it was decent.

pasta 2Pasta of the Day $19.90

The sweet corn fritters were massive, like a couple of yellow crunchy baseball mitts and the yoghurt sauce which was just tzatziki I assume was a perfect accompaniment. The tomatoes and avocado were top quality and super fresh.

corn frittersSweet Corn Fritters
served on mixed leaves, avocado and roasted roma tomatoes with a yoghurt, dill and cucumber dressing $20.90

There are quite a few cafes on the mall in Leura but overall I think Leura Gourmet is the pick of the bunch, if you’re up that way make sure you check out the candy store too… you can thank me later.

Leura Gourmet
159 Leura Mall
Leura 2780

Leura Gourmet Cafe & Deli Restaurant on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Leura Gourmet Cafe & Deli, Leura

  1. Haha I definitely agree about the candy shop! I haven’t been to this restaurant but it certainly seems welcoming – I’d love to visit next time I hang out in Leura. I went for a 3 day trip just last month 🙂 Also I am very much tempted by all the food photography on your blog!

Leave a Reply

