Gelato Messina @ Sydney Festival

mural

With Sydney Festival running from the 9th of January till yesterday you had 17 days to check out this epic carnival menu from Gelato Messina. I didn’t get the chance to get through the whole thing but here are the ones I did try.

menu

I wanted to try this as soon as I read about it, I figured if anyone could make this work it was the geniuses at Messina. It definitely was strange biting into this sweet hotdog but everything worked well together and I really liked the toasted coconut “onions” on the bottom.

Yeeah DawgsYeeah Dawgs!
A milk chocolate gelato hot dog, served in a warm finger bun with essential condiments passionfruit ‘mustard’, raspberry ‘ketchup’ and buttercream ‘mayo’, and coconut ‘onions’ $9

This was probably my pick of the bunch, it’s basically fried ice-cream on a stick, maple syrup gelato no less with plum sauce, f*cking legit.

MESSINAWIENER 2MESSINAWIENER! AKA THE PLUTO PUP
A baton of maple syrup gelato coated in pancake batter, deep fried & crispy – Dipped in plum sauce $9

I don’t think I’ve actually ever tasted yuzu the asian citrus fruit that’s been popular lately on menus in Sydney. I thought it was way too sour… saying that though when I first sucked on a sour warhead at 10 years of age I thought my head would cave in so my tolerance isn’t high. The fairy floss quickly melted in the humidity and the salted caramel fudge was just a tiny ball in the middle.

SAMURAI FAIRY BALLSSAMURAI FAIRY BALLS
Yuzu sorbet and salted caramel fudge spun in red fairy floss $7

SAMURAI FAIRY BALLS 1

The toffee apple was a tangy green apple sorbet encased in two layers of chocolate finished with a red glaze. You really had to crack the chocolate open to get in and I eventually had to use a spoon to loot the apple goodness inside.

GELATOFFEE APPLESGELATOFFEE APPLES
Green apple sorbet, with a caramel milk chocolate glazed candy apple red finish $7

GELATOFFEE APPLES 1

I haven’t eaten a redskin since I was about 11, the flavour went surprisingly well with the banana and who doesn’t like pop rocks? This one tasted like childhood on a stick.

EYESCREAM LOLLYPOPEYESCREAM LOLLYPOPS
Redskin, banana and pop rocks $7

Peanut butter gelato and I are good friends and the caramelised banana was awesome.

THE BANANA SPLITTHE BANANA SPLIT
Peanut butter gelato, caramelised banana, whipped cream, chocolate sauce & a cherry on top $9

I don’t normally go for cheesecake flavoured gelato but I wanted that caramel! I couldn’t discern any of the duck fat flavour but the marshmallow definitely had a strong bacon element… it was kind of weird actually.

SO WRONG, IT’S RIGHTSO WRONG, IT’S RIGHT
Caramel cheesecake gelato, duck fat caramel, crushed potato chips & bacon marshmallow $9

It was another home run from Messina and no doubt they’ll be back next year but if you did miss out this year… sucks to be you.

Gelato Messina on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Gelato Messina @ Sydney Festival

Leave a Reply

