The Paramount Coffee Project, Surry Hills

On the never ending search for good cafes and after visiting the new hotspot Three Williams countless times in recent weeks I checked out The Paramount Coffee Project in Surry Hills.

This place was Three Williams before Three Williams was Three Williams if you get what I’m saying.

bikes

I have read tons of good reviews but also a few comments from people who have given it a miss due to the number of hipsters that frequent the spot… um, are we avoiding places now because there’s a few people sporting ironic tattoos and wearing thick rimmed glasses? After all, once you’ve had a coffee you can pick up a fixie from Tokyobike shop in the same building so you gotta expect the hipsters, the way people go on about it though you’d think they were holding klan rallies there.

kitchen

I also read a couple of reviews from people whinging about the chefs not allowing them to make changes to dishes or get certain sides with their meal. I must say I kind of respect that arrogance. I’d like to see more of it, maybe start refusing tables to people wearing crocs or banning someone for life if they pronounce the T in “often”. I figure it’s their place so they can do what they like.

After visiting for the first time on Friday I’ve been back twice since so it’s fair to say I’m slightly addicted to PCP… the cafe that is not the hallucinogenic.

On my first visit I ordered the Rose Iced Tea, it tastes like I imagine the water tastes in a vase that’s had roses in it for a week, and I don’t mean that in a bad way, I liked it, very refreshing and not too sweet.

rose iced tea 1Rose Iced Tea $5

My friend who is probably the foremost authority on iced coffee in the country ordered the cappuccino milkshake. His verdict: the best milkshake he’s ever had. He says that a lot though, but I thought it was outstanding too and I don’t even like coffee. I’ve seen a few people whinging that $8 is too much for a milkshake on various blogs, mind you these are people who are also sporting $1000 handbags in their photos so wtf?

cappuccino milkshakeCappuccino Milkshake $8 

The PB & J milkshake hit the spot as expected, tastes more PB than J but there’s defs a hint of J in the aftertaste.

peanut butter milkshakePeanut Butter & Jelly Milkshake $8

If milkshakes aren’t your thing then the house made strawberry soda is a good option with real strawberry pulp.

strawberry sodaStrawberry Soda $5

For something light I opted for muesli on one of the several visits I’ve made in the last few days. It’s nice and fresh but you really come here for the burgers and fried chicken I think.

muesliNatural Muesli w yoghurt, nuts, berries, fruit, hazelnut crumble $9

The avocado on toast is simple and light and the addition of lime and chilli gives it a nice bite.

avo on toastAvo on toast w chilli, lime, greens $10 – ADD: Fried egg/eggs $3/$5

We shared a plate of the fried chicken which was 5 or 6 pieces of super juicy boneless chicken with creole sauce, the chicken was perfect but the sauce didn’t add much in my opinion, I’d prefer it with some Japanese mayonnaise.

fried chickenPFC: Double fried chicken, house slaw, creole relish $16

The crab po boy was a generous serve of fried soft shell crab with coleslaw. The crab was perfectly done, the bun was a little sweet for my liking similar to brioche and I despise brioche buns but that’s just my personal taste, this was done very well.

crab po boyCrab Po Boy: soft shell crab, house slaw, ranch dressing, butter bun $18

The Hick Burger was probably the highlight, onion rings on burgers is where it’s at and I loved the crunchy pickle, it gave great contrast as I often find pulled meat to be very rich, the aioli gave a nice bit of extra flavour too.

hick burgerThe Hick Burger: Smoked hickory pulled lamb, onion rings, horseradish aioli $18 

You gotta love dill pickles and I recommend these as a side with the burgers especially the crab, I’d stick a couple in the bun.

crisps and picklesMcClures potato crisps & housemade dill pickles $3

It’s hard to find a good waffle in Sydney, I had one at the Guylian cafe recently that would have the Belgians spinning in their graves. This one on the other hand made me feel sick, but in a totally good way. It’s big enough to share between 2 or 3 and served with a heap of peanut butter ice cream and covered in crumbed hazelnut nut and dulce de leche.

sweet waffleSweet Waffle: Peanut butter ice cream, dulce de leche, hazelnut $15

         I for one welcome our new hipster overlords, they know how to rock out a good cafe that’s for damn sure. The staff are cool, the food is rad and the building makes me want to study architecture. Keep in mind they’re closing at 3pm tomorrow and not reopening till the 7th of Jan so you got about 24 hours to get there otherwise its going to be a long Christmas break!

The Paramount Coffee Project
80 Commonwealth St
Surry Hills 2010

The Paramount Coffee Project on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “The Paramount Coffee Project, Surry Hills

Leave a Reply

