Three Williams, Redfern

I had heard good things about Three Williams, the word on the street was it was solid, real solid. So I checked it out with a friend yesterday and I concur. It ticks all the boxes, cool venue with exposed bricks and heaps of room, the tables are nicely spaced so you don’t have to listen to peoples inane conversations but you can still check out the local talent sitting across from you. Heaps of very competent staff and the food is outstanding not to mention they have probably one of the best milkshakes I’ve ever had.

kitchen

Plus they have a bunch of other stuff like free wifi for all you cheapskates out there and a kids corner with chalkboard for those people who have felt the need to procreate.

I fancy myself a bit of milkshake connoisseur and I normally have a rule that I never order one when I’m eating an actual meal but I couldn’t pass this one up. Peanut butter and caramel! It’s a $6 milkshake and they didn’t even put “bourbon in it or nothin'” but in the words of Vincent Vega our man in Amsterdam “that’s a pretty fucking good milkshake”. I didn’t actually end up finishing it so you could probably share it, but whatever you do don’t miss out on it, it’s taken over from Reuben Hills as the best milkshake in town I think.

milkshakePeanut butter and caramel milkshake $6

My friend on the other hand is a “big breakfast” connoisseur so he opted for the “big william” which included onion relish, if you read my post about Forbes & Burton then you know my feelings about onion relish. Three Williams had it on the menu and he got it on the plate. That’s how you do it! We didn’t end up finding out what a “nuremburg” sausage was but suffice to say it didn’t seem to have anything to do with the Third Reich and it tasted good.

big williamBig William: bacon, fried eggs, nuremberg sausage, roma tomato, hash, onion relish $17

If there’s fries and aioli on a menu then I’m gonna be ordering them. These were perfect super crunchy beer battered chips with a side of creamy aioli. Defs a must order.

chipsBeer battered chips with house aioli $6

The fish croquettes were amazeballs, piping hot and full of fish and potato with a drizzle of lemon and aioli. Perfecto.

fish croquettesFish croquettes, lemon, aioli $3 each

And finally the “narnie”, this is what everyone has been talking about since they opened.  A sandwich made from basically a naan bread. I had heard good things about the beef brisket so went with that but I was devo when I noticed the prawn version after I’d ordered. I needn’t have worried though, the beef was outstanding, the juicy brisket was nicely contrasted with the crunchy gherkins and coleslaw and the mayo packs a lot of flavour. By this time unfortunately the peanut butter milkshake had caught up with and I couldn’t finish it but my friend was happy to take it off my hands.

narnie 1Narnie: glazed beef brisket, slaw, gherkins, chipotle mayo $14

Three Williams may be my new favourite cafe, I dig their food and their whole vibe and I think Sydney needs more places like this. They’ve only been open for 10 days and I’m concerned next time I go there’s going to be a line out the door so my advice is to get down there quick sticks!

menu

UPDATE

I’ve been back to try the new pork neck narnie, I love the hoisin sauce and crispy carrot on this one.

pork neck

And also the peach and vanilla soda rocked my world.

peach and vanilla

Three Williams
613a Elizabeth St
Redfern 2016

Three Williams on Urbanspoon

7 thoughts on “Three Williams, Redfern

  1. I ate here on the weekend, and agree with you – this place is going to go off in about a week. The fries were amazing… any place that does good hot chips is an instant winner to me.

  2. I can’t wait to get myself here this weekend as an awesome birthday treat. Looking forward to trying some of your recommendations 🙂

Leave a Reply

