Pulp Kitchen, Canberra

This blog will generally focus on Sydney restaurants but to start things off I’m going to detail a couple of places I visited recently interstate.

On a recent trip to Canberra as I scoured the interwebs to find somewhere interesting to eat, all signs pointed in two directions, Pulp Kitchen and Eightysix.

Pulp Kitchen is a laid back european brasserie nestled in an unassuming row of shops in Ainslie,  serving traditional bistro food and the best thing is they offer most dishes in half sizes for half the price!

We arrived mid Saturday morning and were concerned when we saw a large group of people congregated outside the door, thankfully it seemed to be some kind of awkward family reunion and the restaurant wasn’t even half full.

In my opinion, anytime you can get a steak tartare at 9am you’re in the right place!

So I obviously  ordered the steak tartare and let me tell you it was epic. I ordered the half size for $16 and whilst definitely on the small side satisfied my hunger for raw meat none the less. This and a side of fries and you can’t go wrong.

IMG_3344

BEEF TARTARE, ONION PETALS, SMOKED EGG YOLK, BEETROOT $16/$25

My vegetarian dining companion ordered the eggs, with sides of mushrooms, lyonnaise potatoes and something I cant remember hidden beneath the eggs. Now I rarely order eggs for breakfast but these were as good as it gets (not that I would expect anything less, lets face it, if a cafe or restaurant can’t make perfect eggs they got problems).

IMG_3346

EGGS ANYHOW WITH TOAST AND YOUR CHOICE OF THREE SIDES $18

The way I saw it if I was going to eat raw meat for breakfast I could definitely eat french fries too and these bad boys didn’t disappoint. Perfectly cooked fries with a side of aioli, they were the perfect accompaniment to the tartare.

IMG_3347

SHOESTRING FRENCH FRIES WITH AIOLI $9

I also wish I had tried the COTECHINO SAUSAGE WITH SOFT FRIED EGG AND GRUYERE BECHAMEL ON TOAST  $10/$19, I think we should be striving towards a society where we can order two half size dishes per meal!

If you ever find yourself in Canberra then Pulp Kitchen is certainley  worth a visit.

Pulp Kitchen
Shop 1, Wakefield Gardens
Ainslie ACT 2602

Pulp Kitchen on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Pulp Kitchen, Canberra

Leave a Reply

